Brisbane Ashtanga Yoga is a studio and community space dedicated and committed to teaching the Ashtanga Yoga method as taught by Sri K Pattabhi Jois and Sharath Jois of Mysore India.


The Ashtanga yoga method involves synchronising the breath (deep even conscious breathing) with a progressive series of postures (asana’s), this linking of breath and movement is known as vinyasa, a process that produces intense internal heat and a purifying sweat that detoxifies muscles and organs and expels unwanted toxins from the body. During the practice we also maintain a steady gazing of the eyes (drishti) to create focus and concentration and help stabilise the mind.

The results of regular practice are improved circulation, a light and strong body & a calm focused mind. Over time this practice can become a moving meditation. The Ashtanga Yoga method places equal emphasis on strength, flexibility and stamina. 

In one of the most influential classical texts on yoga, The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, you will find the Sanskrit word Ashtanga, which literally means “eight limbs.” Here Ashtanga Yoga is defined by these 8 limbs as a progressive path to self-realisation.

Yama (self restraint)

Ahimsa – non-harming
Satya – truthfulness
Asteya – non–stealing
Brahmacarya – continence
Aparigraha – greedlessness or taking only what
is necessary

Niyama (observances)

Sauca – cleanliness or purity
Santosha – contentment
Tapas – austerity or self – discipline
Svadhyaya – self-study
Isvara pranidhana – surrender or devotion

Asana (physical practice of yoga postures)


Pranayama breath control exercises


Pratyahara control of the senses


Dharana concentration


Dhyana meditation


Samadhi absorption